Victoria University of Wellington (VUW)

Victoria University of Wellington is a highly ranked university with a strong research focus.

The University was established in 1899, making it among the oldest universities in New Zealand.

Victoria is located in New Zealand’s capital city, Wellington, in close proximity to the country’s national research institutions. The University enrols over 21,000 students each year including around 3,000 international students from around 80 countries.

Helpful information

Campus Sites

Victoria University has four campuses, three of which are within 15 minutes walk of each other in the city centre. The main Kelburn campus enjoys stunning views over the harbour; the Law School occupies the historic government buildings opposite Parliament and is adjacent to the Faculty of Commerce and Administration, on the Pipitea campus; the Schools of Architecture and Design occupy a large, awards-winning building, Te Aro campus, in the midst of the central city’s heart; the Faculty of Education is located in Karori, a 10-minute drive from the heart of the city.

Academic Courses

Study opportunities are offered through seven faculties: Architecture & Design, Commerce & Administration, Education, Engineering, Humanities & Social Sciences, Law, and Science.

Architecture & Design

Architecture & Design’s facilities are among the best in Australasia. Major items of equipment include 3-D Digital Printer, Digital Laser Cutter, a wind tunnel, and other environmental simulation equipment.

Commerce and Administration

Commerce and Administration makes the most of being close to the centre of a thriving capital city. Many businesses have their head offices in the city and excellent links are in place with government agencies. The faculty incorporates the Schools of Accounting & Commercial Law, Economics & Finance, Government, Information Management, Marketing & International Business and the Victoria Management School.

Humanities and Social Sciences

Humanities and Social Sciences are ranked in the Top 80 in the world by the THES. As Victoria’s largest faculty, this offers a wide range of study areas, including Classics, Asian & European Languages, English, Film, Theatre & Media, Political Science & International Relations, Linguistics, Nursing & Midwifery.


Education teaches a range of undergraduate programmes related to teacher training in early childhood, primary and secondary areas. It also delivers a range of undergraduate and postgraduate study for the professional development of teachers.


Engineering is currently offered at undergraduate and PhD levels. Focuses within the Faculty include Computer System Engineering, Electronic Engineering, Network Engineering and Software Engineering.


Law offers study at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. It has acknowledged strengths in International Law, Public Law and Commercial Law and includes two research centres – NZ Centre for Public Law and NZ Centre for Dispute Resolution and Research.


Science offers study through its Schools of Biological Sciences; Chemical and Physical Sciences; Geography, Environment & Earth Sciences; Mathematics, Statistics & Computer Sciences; and Psychology.


The New Zealand School of Music (NZSM) has been established by combining Victoria University of Wellington and Massey University’s strengths to offer students opportunities for comprehensive music study unique in New Zealand.


Address: Kelburn Campus, 19 Kelburn Parade, Wellington 6012

Find out more

For more information about this university, please contact ISENZ.